Presidency & Selection Committee 2024

& Selection Committee 2024

Each year, the selection committee, made up of European personalities, hospitality and gastronomy professionals, validates a list of potential candidates eligible for the European Hotel Awards accolades. The winners are recognized professionals from the world of hospitality and tourism industry.

Michel Stalport
President of Chapter 2024

Trained at Namur Hotel School and Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne, Michel Stalport is a high-level business executive specializing in the management and development of the international hotel industry. From Hilton International EMEA, via the Walt Disney company to the Radisson Hotel Group, Michel Stalport’s career is paved with success. Climbing all levels of the hierarchical chain, from Regional Director F&B, through General Manager, to Vice-President Eastern Europe & Russia and Senior Advisor Radisson Hotel Group since december 2022, is a living legend in the European hotel industry.

The selection of the winners of the European Hotel Awards is not linked to a competition, but rather guided by thoughtful choices which take into account the very essence of the hotels chosen for their exceptional qualities. Everyone shares a common goal: to make the customer experience as wonderful as possible, without forgetting the importance of sustainable and environmentally friendly practices

Albert Rouwendal
Vice-President Hospitality

Albert Rouwendal, a Dutch national, is a leading international hospitality professional with years of experience and success under his belt. He was until recently Director of Operation Officer and General Manager for the Benelux of Movenpick Hotels & Resorts, based in Amsterdam. And oversaw, as General Manager, Sunrise Kempinski and Yanqi Island hotels with a team of 1,000 employees. In his career, he has held several management positions for renowned international luxury hotel groups, including IHG, Shangri-La, Hilton, Kempinski and of course Movenpick in Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia. Albert Rouwendal is an expert in the luxury hospitality sector.

“As Vice-President Hospitality of European Hotel Awards and Member of the board, I am very honored to participate in the promotion of ours peers in search of excellence”

Stefano Brancato
Vice-President F&B

Former general manager for 25 years of the famous and legendary Café de Paris in Monte-Carlo, Principality of Monaco, Stefano Brancato, of Italian nationality, is an expert in the F&B sector. At the head of the Café de Paris for a quarter of a century, with a team of 230 employees, in high season, and an average of 1,000 customers per day, Stefano Brancato has proven his high skills in this specific area. Recently, he was honored by HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco with the title of: Chevalier de l’Ordre de Saint Charles, the highest of Monegasque distinctions, ahead of the Order of Grimaldi.

“For me, the European Hotel Awards represent a great opportunity to honor the best employees who provide excellent services to customers, in the F&B departments of hotels. This employment sector really needs recognition.”

Miguel Maugi Santos
Vice-President F&B

Miguel Maugi Santos, a distinguished leader in the hospitality F&B sector, has proudly accepted the role of Vice-President of Selection for the Food and Beverage Manager of the Year at the European Hotel Awards. Possessing a profound academic foundation with Master’s degrees from the University of Lisbon and Budapest Business School, Miguel contributes unmatched expertise. Notably, his role as Corporate Director of Food and Beverage at Vila Galé Hotels, leading 28 hotels (36 restaurants and 42 bars) in Portugal and 10 in Brazil, has been exemplary, enhancing revenue, reducing costs, and improving customer satisfaction extensively. Miguel’s adeptness in F&B management shines through his innovative culinary strategies, effective team leadership, and market trend acumen. His involvement in the European Hotel Awards underscores his dedication to advancing the hospitality industry’s standards, signifying a promising outlook for F&B distinction in Europe.

“As Vice-President of the Selection Committee at the European Hotel Awards, I am honored to contribute to excellence in F&B services, uniting passion and expertise to elevate our industry.”

Carole Le Bagousse
Vice-President for Gastronomy

Trained in the realm of gastronomy and hospitality, Carole Le Bagousse has pursued her career with excellence. As the Vice-President for Gastronomy within the Board of the European Hotel Awards, Carole Le Bagousse also serves as the President of the World Gastronomy Organization, founded by Laurent Truyen, Count of Fenouillime. The World Gastronomy Organization boasts approximately 28,000 members and has embassies in numerous countries. Furthermore, the World Gastronomy Organization is also an institutional partner of the European Hotel Awards.

“As a specialist in gastronomy, among other areas, I am highly motivated to contribute to the annual selections of the European Hotel Awards.”

Guillaume Gomez
Permanent Honorary President

Guillaume Gomez, former chef of the Presidency of the French Republic and president of the Chefs de la République. Since 2021, he has been appointed personal representative of the President of the Republic for gastronomy, food and the culinary arts.

“I accept with pleasure the permanent honorary presidency of the presentation of the “European Hotels Awards by References”. Paris, March 21, 2017.”

Thierry Lavalley
Permanent Honorary Board Member

Professional in the hotel industry for more than 40 years, Thierry Lavalley is a highly experienced General Manager in the luxury hotel sector: Swissôtel Hotels and Resorts, Kempinski Hotels and Accor Group – Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. He was also President of the Société des Hôteliers de Genève for several years, responsible for defending the interests and rights of Geneva hoteliers. Holder of numerous international accolades and awards, Thierry Lavalley is recognized by the world hotel industry as a high-level personality.

“ The European Hotel Awards are a great initiative to highlight the hotel industry in Europe. Since their creation, I fully support the institutional spirit of these awards. “

Michele Florentino
Permanent Grand Officer of the Board & Vice-President for tourism

Michele Florentino is a public speaker, writer and specialist in hospitality, gastronomy, wine and tourism. Michele Florentino is Knight of the Order of Grimaldi, Monegasque Medal of Merit, Knight Officer of Ordine della Stella d’Italia – the Order of the Star of Italy 2012, given by Mr. Giorgio Napolitano (President of the Italian Republic 2006-2015). Michele Florentino was also member of the Board of the Association of Italian Hoteliers, Co-founder and member of the Board of the AIS (Italian Association of Sommeliers), among many activities and institutional presences. Writer in oeno-gastronomy, he is the author of a best seller: Brevi storie di vino e donne, prefaced by the famous Maria Rita Parsi and Arrigo Cipriani, owner of legendary Harry’s Bar in Venice, Italy.

“ Very honored to be part of the board of the European Hotel Awards, I am really passionate about participating in the promotion of the hotel industry and gastronomy in Europe. “

Hotel Partners & Hoteliers participants since 2018

Translate »
28 requêtes en 0.150 secondes